Past Silk Painting projects

I’ve been playing with silk painting for a few years now.  I took an Art/Sci class, and created a pennon for our tourney champion.

Then, I worked on  a Kingdom project with some super-talented artisans.  Mostly I was the “fill” to their Microsoft Paint… they did the designing and most of the gutta (resist outlining).  I just added paint where they pointed.

Below are a few of my solo projects.

IMG_1896

Created for the heavy and rapier champions of Trimaris Tournament of Champions (2015).  The “cartoon” has been sketched (traced) onto the silk and the silk is stretched on my frame

IMG_1898

Gutta (resist outline) has been applied.

IMG_1901

“Final” before heat setting the paint. I chose opposite color schemes based on the blobbiness of my gutta application.

 

IMG_1992

Created for the elevation of my friend, Mistress Kale Adriane. The Pelican background and triskele is a cobalt blue, and the fly is black. Hard to see the difference in this light.

IMG_1642

Hubby’s pennon, finished. I almost forgot to take a pic before taking it off the frame.

IMG_1636

My pennon on the frame

IMG_1652

My pennon, fluttering prettily. Below is the Barony of Marcaster’s pennon (I didn’t create that one, but was Baroness at the time the pic was taken).

Leave a Reply

